Public Document Pack



Joanne Roney OBE
Chief Executive
Telephone: 0161 234 3006
j.roney@manchester.gov.uk
PO Box 532, Town Hall
Extension, Manchester
M60 2LA

Tuesday, 24 September 2019

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Wednesday, 2nd October, 2019

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00 am on Wednesday, 2nd October, 2019, in The Council Chamber, Level 2, Town Hall Extension.

1. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Alderman: Mr Hugh Barrett

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Special Meeting of the Council – Wednesday 2 October 2019

You are summoned to attend a Special Meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00 am on Wednesday, 2nd October, 2019, in The Council Chamber, Level 2, Town Hall Extension, for the purpose of considering the following Motion to be moved by the Lord Mayor, that Mr Hugh Barrett is admitted as Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester in recognition of his distinctive and eminent service which he has rendered to the City in the office of Councillor.

Motion to be moved by The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Councillor Abid Chohan) Seconded by the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Tommy Judge)

That this Council hereby records its view that the powers entrusted to it by law of recognising persons who have rendered eminent service to the Council as a former member, would be fittingly exercised by admitting to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City:

Hugh Barrett

who has rendered meritorious service to the City as a Councillor for over 50 years.

Hugh Barrett was first elected as a Councillor for Ardwick Ward of the City in 1968 and represented Sharston Ward since 1994. Until he stood down at the last election.

During his membership of the Council he has served as Chair on numerous committees, including Chair of Personnel Committee between 1975 and 1980, Chair of Social Services Committee in 1982, and Chair of Community Regeneration Committee 2003 and 2007. He was also Deputy Lord Mayor in1999, and served as Lord Mayor in 2000.

Hugh's commitment and faithful service to his fellow citizens and his support for the development of strong and vibrant communities has been the cornerstone of his public service for over 50 years. His intellect, ability, integrity, affability and enthusiasm has earned him both the highest regard and respect of everyone who knows him, and in the opinion of the members of this Council, Hugh is a distinguished former colleague for whom it is fitting to admit to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen.

The Council accordingly resolves that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972, Hugh Barrett is hereby admitted to be Honorary Aldermen of the City.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

At the end of this Special Meeting of the Council, there will be a performance by the Bee Vocal Mental Health Choir.

There will then follow the Ordinary Meeting of the Council which will begin after the choir's performance.

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Seven individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors:-

Hitchen, Abdullatif, Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, Nasrin Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Battle, Bridges, Butt, Chambers, Chohan (Chair), Clay, Collins, Cooley, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Y Dar, Davies, Doswell, Douglas, Evans, Farrell, Flanagan, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Harland, Hassan, Hewitson, Holt, Hughes, Igbon, Ilyas, Jeavons, Johns, S Judge, T Judge (Deputy Chair), Kamal, Karney, Kilpatrick, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, J Lovecy, Ludford, Lynch, Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, Moore, N Murphy, S Murphy, Newman, Noor, O'Neil, Ollerhead, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, A Simcock, K Simcock, Stanton, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Watson, Wheeler, Whiston, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Gordon Conquest, Andrew Fender, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, Nilofar Siddiqi, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee Officer:

Donald Connolly Tel: 0161 234 3034

Email: d.connolly@manchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **Tuesday, 24 September 2019** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Level 3, Town Hall Extension (Lloyd Street Elevation), Manchester M60 2LA

